The C.R. Stephen Lecture

C. Ronald Stephen, M.D., F.F.A.R.C.S., received his B.Sc. and M.D.C.M. degrees from McGill University in Montreal, Canada. Following service in the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps and training in anesthesia at McGill University, he became chief of anesthesia at the Neurologic Institute and later at the Children's Memorial Hospital, both in Montreal.

Between 1950 and 1966, Dr. Stephen was professor and chief of anesthesia at Duke University and Duke Hospital. In 1966, he became professor of anesthesiology at the University of Texas, Southwestern Medical School, Dallas. Washington University School of Medicine named him professor and chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology in 1971, at which time he also was named anesthesiologist-in-chief at Barnes and St. Louis Children's hospitals. Following his retirement from academic medicine in 1980, he served as chief of anesthesiology at St. Luke's Hospital, St. Louis, for five years. Currently, he serves as the secretary of the Anesthesia History Association and has just completed a review of the history of the Academy of Anesthesiology.

Dr. Stephen is the author of more than 160 scientific papers and two monographs. He was the founding editor of the journal Survey of Anesthesiology and is now its editor emeritus.

Past C R Stephen Speakers

2011 Dr. James Eisenach
2010 Dr. Irene Tracey
2009 Dr. Gregg Semenza
2008 Dr. Jeffrey Balser
2007 Dr. Clifford Saper
2006 Dr. Kevin J. Tracey
2005 Dr. David Julius
2004 Dr. Mervyn Maze
2003 Dr. Erwin Neher
2002 Dr. Eric R. Kandel
2001 Dr. Nicholas P. Franks
2000 Dr. Allan I. Basbaum
1999 Dr. David A. McCormick
1998 Dr. Clifford J. Woolf
1997 Dr. Steven E. Hyman
1996 Dr. Marcus E. Raichle
1995 Dr. Howard L. Fields
1994 Dr. Warren M. Zapol
1992 Dr. Nicholas M. Greene
1991 Dr. Robert K. Stoelting
1990 Dr. James E. Eckenhoff
1989 Dr. M.T. Jenkins
1988 Dr. Leroy D. Vandam