The David M. Kipnis Lecture

The David M. Kipnis lectureship was established in the Department of Molecular Biology and Pharmacology to honor Dr. David Kipnis, Distinguished University Professor of Medicine and chair of the Department of Medicine from 1972 to 1992. Each annual lecture is delivered by an individual whose work on basic questions related to the control of cell growth, differentiation and communication has important implications for understanding the origins of human diseases.

This emphasis on the “foundations of biomedicine” and on multi-disciplinary science reflects Dr. Kipnis' efforts during his 20 years as chairman to create opportunities for talented faculty throughout the School of Medicine and the University to pursue the most fundamental questions in the biomedical sciences with the expectation that the ensuing answers would ultimately yield critical clues to understanding and treating a variety of illnesses.

Dr. Kipnis' own research focused on the mechanisms of glucose and amino acid transport, the regulation of insulin release from pancreatic b -cells, and the molecular mechanisms underlying the metabolic effects of insulin and other hormones. His pioneering work has been recognized by many awards, including election to the National Academy of Sciences, the George M. Kober Medal from the Association of American Physicians, the Ernest Oppenheimer Award from the Endocrine Society, and the Lilly Award and Banting Medal from the American Diabetes Association.

Past Kipnis Speakers

2011 Marc Kirschner
2010 Gary Ruvkun
2009 Elizabeth Blackburn
2008 Christopher Walsh
2007 Connie Cepko
2006 Leonard Guarente
2005 David Kingley
2004 Kevin Shokat
2003 Hans Clevers
2002 Marc Tessier-Lavigne
2001 Gerald Rubin
1999 Cynthia Kenyon
1998 Eric Wieschaus
1998 Matthew Scott