The James L. O'Leary Prize

Dr. James L. O'Leary joined the faculty of the Department of Anatomy at Washington University in 1928. In 1948 he joined the faculty of the Department of Neurology, becoming Head of the Department in 1946, remaining until 1971. For many years, neuroscience research at Washington University was conducted by Dr. O'Leary and his colleagues. They developed an interdisciplinary and interactive approach to the study of the nervous system that continues today. Dr. O'Leary's colleagues, admirers, and former students established a fund in 1975 to award a prize each year to a graduate student and/or postdoctoral fellow or resident for excellence in neuroscience research. The winners of the O'Leary Prize are announced at the Annual Symposium on Translational Neuroscience (featuring the George H. Bishop and Hope Center Lectures) each year.

Recipients of the O'Leary Prize
(G= graduate student; P = Postdoctoral Fellow)

Year Recipient Lab preceptor/Department
2019 Kow Essuman (G)
Anish Mitra (G)
Jeff Milbrandt - Genetics
Marcus Raichle - Radiology
2018 Mariah Hoye (G)
Sarah Kaufman (G-MD/PhD)
Tim Miller - Neurology
Marc Diamond - Neurology
2017 Xitong Liang (G)
Nai-Wen Tien (G)
Paul Taghert & Timothy Holy - Neuroscience
Daniel Kerschensteiner - Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
2016 Timothy Lauman (G)
Sarah Ackerman (G)
Steve Petersen - Neurology
Kelly Monk - Developmental Biology
2015 Jennifer Enright (G)
Brandon Holmes (G)
Joe Corbo - Pathology and Immunology
Marc Diamond - Neurology
2014 Josiah Gerts (G)
Michael Vasek (G)
Jeffrey Milbrandt - Genetics
Robyn Klein - Internal Medicine
2013 Cindy Montana (G)
Jonathan Power (G)
Joseph Corbo - Pathology & Immunology
Steven Petersen - Neurology
2012 Travis Hage (G)
Steve Nelson (P)
Larry Salkoff - Anatomy & Neurobiology
Kathleen McDermott - Psychology
2011 Joseph Castellano (G)
Cong (Lucy) Li (G)
David Holtzman - Neurology
Naren Ramanan - Anatomy & Neurobiology
2010 Albert Misko (G)
Julian Meeks (P)
Robert Baloh - Neurology
Timothy Holy - Anatomy & Neurobiology
2009 Bradley Miller (G)
Jin-shan Wang (P)
Aaron DiAntonio - Developmental Biology
Vladimir Kevalov - Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
2008 Rebecca Hendrickson (G)
YanGang Sun (P)
Timothy Holy - Anatomy & Neurobiology
Zhuo-Feng Chen - Anesthesiology
2007 Jacob Nadler (G)
Yong Gu (P)
Greg DeAngelis - Anatomy & Neurobiology
Greg DeAngelis & Dora Angelaki - Anatomy & Neurobiology
2006 Richard Daniels (G)
Catherine Collins (P)
Aaron DiAntonio - Molec. Biol. & Pharmacology
Aaron DiAntonio - Molec. Biol. & Pharmacology
2005 John Fryer (G)
Ethan Graf (G)
Botir Sagdullaev (P)
David Holtzman - Neurology
Ann Marie Craig - Anatomy & Neurobiology
Peter Lukasiewicz - Ophthalmology & Vis. Sci.
2004 Jerry Nguyenkim (S)
Eric Leuthardt (P)
Greg DeAngelis - Anatomy & Neurobiology
Dan Moran - Biomedical Engineering
2003 Terrance Kumer (G)
Belen Hurle (P)
Josh Sanes - Anatomy & Neurobiology
David Ornitz - Molec. Biol. & Pharmacology
2002 Kit Wong (G)
Mark Walsh (G)
Jin-Yuan Sun (P)
Yi Rao - Anatomy & Neurobiology
Jeff Lichtman - Anatomy & Neurobiology)
Ling-Gang Wu - Anesthesiology
2001 Charles Harris (G)
Robert Burgess (P)
Eugene Johnson - Neurology; Molec. Biol & Pharm
Josh Sanes - Anatomy & Neurobiology
2000 Jeff Mumm (G)
Malu Tansey (P)
Raphael Kopan - Molec. Biol. & Pharmacology
Eugene Johnson - Neurology; Molec. Biol & Pharm
1999 William M. Kelley (G)
John C. Sun (P)
Steve Petersen - Neurology
Steve Highstein & Barbara Bohne - Otolaryngology
1998 Rachel M. Easton (G)
Roberta Chiesa (p)
Eugene Johnson - Neurology, Molec. Biol & Pharm
David Harris - Cell Biology
1997 Lisa Evans (G)
Bruce Patton (P)
Paul Bridgman - Anatomy & Neurobiology
Joshua Sanes -Anatomy & Neurobiology
1996 Paul T. Kotzbauer (G)
Janice E. Brunstrom (P)
Jeff Milbrandt - Pathology and Eugene Johnson - Neurology, Molec. Biol & Pharm
Alan Pearlman - Neurology, Cell Biology
1995 Randy Buckner (G)
Anatoli Lopatin (P)
Steve Petersen - Neurology
Colin Nichols - Cell Biology
1994 Steve Mennerick (G)
Inmaculada Silos-Santiago (P)
Charles Zorumski - Psychiatry
William Snider Neurology
1993 Thomas Carmichael (G) Joel Price - Anatomy & Neurobiology
1992 Maria J. Donoghue (G) John Merlie - Molec. Biol. & Pharmacology and Josh Sanes - Anatomy & Neurobiology
1991 John A. Butman (G)
Andrew D. Hershey (G)
Nobuo Suga - Biology
James Krause - Anatomy & Neurobiology
1990 David P. Martin (G)
Alison Strack (G)
Eugene Johnson - Neurology, Molec. Biol & Pharm
Arthur Loewy - Anatomy & Neurobiology
1989 Dale Hunter (G) Anatomy & Neurobiology
1988 Mark Rich (G)
Stephen Senft (G)
Jeff Lichtman - Anatomy & Neurobiology
Tom Woolsey -Neurosurgery
1987 Jonathan Mink (G)
Christine Wilcox (G)
Tom Thach - Anatomy & Neurobiology
1986 Megumi Taniuchi (G) Pharmacology
1985 John Olsen (G)
Ted Usden (G)
Nobuo Suga - Biology
Gerry Fischbach - Anatomy & Neurobiology
1984 Pamala Manning (G)
Jeffrey J. Neil (G)
Arthur Loewy - Anatomy & Neurobiology
1983 Steven C. Massey (G)
Eric Rubin (G)
Dale Purves - Physiology & Biophyiscs
1982 James E. Schwob (G) Joel Price - Anatomy & Neurobiology
1981 Winthrop Sullivan, III (G) Nobuo Suga - Biology
1980 Michael Ariel (G) Physiology & Biophysics
1979 Jonathan Siegel (G)
Brent B. Stanfield (G)
Charles Molnar - Physiology & Biophysics
W. Maxwell Cowan - Anatomy & Neurobiology
1978 Jeff W. Lichtman (G) Dale Purves - Physiology & Biophysics