breadth : diversity : exploration
Washington UNiversity Program in Neuroscience
Named Lectures
O'Leary Prize
Journal Clubs

The Viktor Hamburger Lecture

Born in a small town in Silesia, Germany, Viktor Hamburger attended the Universities of Breslau, Heidelberg, Munich and Freiburg. At the University of Freiburg, he studied with the renowned biologist, Hans Spemann, Nobel Laureate. Professor Hamburger earned his doctoral degree in zoology (experimental embryology) at the University of Freiburg in 1925. The recipient of a Rockefeller Fellowship in 1932, Professor Hamburger came to the United States to study at the University of Chicago with Dr. Frank R. Lillie. In 1935 he joined the faculty of Washington University.    Dr. Hamburger is known for his pioneering work in experimental embryology, neuroembryology and the study of programmed cell death, and his work on NGF with Rita Levi-Montalcine and Stanley Cohen.   During his tenure at this Washington University, he served as Chairman of the Department of Zoology from 1941-1966. Professor Hamburger was a member of the National Academy of Sciences, as well as the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Sigma Xi and Phi Beta Kappa. Though he retired as professor emeritus in 1969, Dr. Hamburger continued his research until the mid-1980s.   He passed away in 2001, just a few weeks short of his 101st birthday.  


Past Hamburger Lecturers

1979       Rita Levi-Montalcini

1980       Paul Greengard

1982       Howard Schneiderman

1983       Salome Gluecksohn-Waelsch

1984       Dale Purves

1985       Hampton Carson

1987       Stanley Cohen

1987       W. Maxwell Cowan

1989       Corey Goodman

1990       John B. Gurdon

1991       Douglas A. Melton

1992       Hans Thoenen

1993       Lynn Landmesser

1994       Friedrich Bonhoeffer

1995       Thomas M. Jessell

1996       Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard

1997       Walter J. Gehring

1998       Marc W. Kirschner

1999       Nicole Le Douarin

2000       Viktor Hamburger Centenary Symposium October 20, 2000

2001       Carla Shatz

2002       Gerd B. Mueller

2003       Irving Weissman

2004       Eddy De Robertis

2005       Marianne Bronner-Fraser

2006       David McClay

2007       Denise Duboule

2009       Sydney Brenner

2010       Gerald Rubin

2011       Pasko Rakic

2012       Ben Barres


© 2008 Washington University, St. Louis, MO.
Washington University In St. Louis